Halp!! Kernel Power error ID 41

Texelis

Space Marshal
Donor
Oct 3, 2014
RSI Handle
Texelis
If anyone can offer ideas on the cause, or solutions to this problem, I would be forever grateful.

I have been fighting my computer for 9 months. Random black screens with "No Display" showing. Critical error ID 41 shows in Event Viewer. Sometimes audio can still be heard, computer is still running. I can be running 7 things, or just surfing. Might stay up for 2 days, but sometimes 20 min, no rhyme or reason, seems random.

i7-4930k not overclocked
16GM G.Skills ram - tested
Sabertooth TUF MOBO
Windows 10

Power settings to High Performance, CPU sleep - Never, everything Never, no hibernation

All drivers updated
Initial testing showed some heat spikes, so I replace CPU cooler
Had some 12V warnings, so replaced PSU with Corsair 850 Platinum
Had video stuttering, replaced GPU with RTX 2080Ti

Thrown lots of money at the issue, but starting to think it's a software thing, OS maybe... I'm going to have to replace the CPU / Mobo / Ram next, but god damn I'm frustrated.

Thanks!

LoicFarris

Vice Admiral
Donor
Mar 1, 2019
RSI Handle
LoicFarris
Have you tried a full OS rebuild? Also do you power the system down when it's not in use? I know MS claims you don't have to, but my PC is powered off when it's not in use. Seems to keep my OS install stable longer when I do that or has for the past 20 years.

You said you ran a RAM test and it came out okay? I wouldn't suggest getting the full CPU / Mobo / RAM next, do one at a time. Perhaps run a CPU test to see if any errors appear?

• o7
Reactions: Talonsbane

Texelis

Space Marshal
Donor
Oct 3, 2014
RSI Handle
Texelis
Random shit like that sucks. You probably have to do a real methodical take-apart and put-back-together again, with notes.

But before that, yeah, re-install the OS, make sure the MOBO has all the firmware upgrades, etc.
I haven't done a full oS reinstall no, I guess I should try that :(

• o7

Texelis

Space Marshal