Anniversary Sale in 2018?

DarkScout

Vice Admiral
Donor
Jun 5, 2018
RSI Handle
TonyMacaronee
Has any news about the Anniversary Sale for this year been released? I am fairly new to SC and wanted to wait for the sale to buy another ship, if it sounds like a good idea.
Anyone have any advice for me? (side note: my hope is that the advice you provide is related to the Anniversary Sale, but I will also accept sound advice on life in general)
Thanks!

SullyQuindarius

Admiral
Dec 24, 2017
RSI Handle
SullyQuindarius
Advice for the sale - plan what you're getting beforehand. Don't get overwhelmed with all the shiny ships, pick what fits your fleet and go with that.

Keep in mind it's a sale as in ships usually not available can be purchased and insurance is much better, not as in discounted ships (although they do discount starter packs).

Deroth

Space Marshal
Donor
Sep 28, 2017
RSI Handle
Deroth1
They make a pretty big deal about it so as long as you check your email or their site regularly you're unlikely to miss it.

Which ships do you have now and what do you have in mind to add?

DarkScout

Vice Admiral
Donor
Jun 5, 2018
RSI Handle
TonyMacaronee
Great advice from all, thanks! I do have a plan for ship types (ship roles), so I have a miner, a bounty hunter, an exploration, and a fighting ship. That way, I can have the right tool for whatever role I feel like playing.
As Bambooza said, that plan might go out the window when I see all the shiny ships in November.

DarkScout

Vice Admiral
Donor
Jun 5, 2018
RSI Handle
TonyMacaronee
I tend to be a solo player for most of my time in game, so I was hesitant to get a medic ship like the Cutlass Red. I wonder if a salvage ship might be a good target?
I currently have:
Prospector
Hornet F7C-R Tracker (may melt this for a salvage ship like the vulture)
Hornet F7C (may want to upgrade to a better fighter during the sale)
Freelancer DUR
Hawk (Cutlass Blue is another option for Bounty Hunting)
Thoughts?

Deroth

Space Marshal