Brother's computer stuck at BIOS screen, can't enter BIOS.

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by Doc Shaftoe, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. Doc Shaftoe

    Doc Shaftoe Admiral
    Donor

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    624
    RSI Handle:
    DocShaftoe
    Hey all, my brother's computer took a shit tonight. He'd turned it off after browsing Reddit for a few hours, then when he turned it back on it was stuck on the BIOS screen and he was unable to enter the BIOS menu. So far we've tried disconnected his SSDs, resetting the CMOS, and running different RAM configurations. From what I've been able to find one the internet, it sounds like it might be a problem with his boot drive, when we don't have that connected his computer looks for one.

    He's got an Asus ROG Rampage IV motherboard that's giving off a 0d q-code. I'm at the limits of my technical know-how on this one. Do you guys have any thoughts on solutions?
     
  2. Mich Angel

    Mich Angel Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    7,027
    RSI Handle:
    ARCHANGEL_666
    Try this make shore all power is off as in no external power source connected to computer then remove all as you did bootable devices then locate the motherboard battery and remove it and let it be out for at least 30 min so all electric current left the capacitors.
    ( this is so you empty any BIOS memory settings on some MB this don't work but could be worth a try )
    This usually set back the BIOS to default startup so you need to configure it again if any changes was made.
    If that don't help I'm out of ideas for now.. ;)
     
    #2 Mich Angel, Jun 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
  3. Bruttle

    Bruttle Vice Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    1,749
    RSI Handle:
    Bruttle
    Yep, Mitch has it right. Give that a go and see what happens. If that doesn't work, I would then strip down the mobo and start running proven parts. I'd deconstruct the computer onto my bench, hook up a single stick of proven ram, a proven psu, cpu, and run it just like that. If you can access the bios, you can always load linux on a usb drive and run some tests there.

    Honestly though, it sounds like your motherboard is borked. I've had a CPU fry, memory go bad, HDD catastrophically corrupt, PSU die, etc., but they all have different symptoms. All those either prevent the pc from starting up entirely, or present themselves after the bios has been loaded. Be careful about changing out the motherboard though. If I remember correctly, windows registers you based on the motherboard ID. So if you swap it out, windows might make you jump through some registration hoops.

    I keep an updated version of Linux mounted on a usb drive for just such occasions. If you can get on the bios and set it to load from the USB first, you can run the entire thing off your usb. Then you can test out different components from a separate, proven drive.... among other things...
     
  4. Printimus

    Printimus Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6,604
    Likes Received:
    26,224
    RSI Handle:
    Printimus
    Sounds like a shitty situation. Hope you get it fixed.
     
    Talonsbane, Mich Angel and Blind Owl like this.
  5. Montoya

    Montoya Administrator
    Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    22,137
    RSI Handle:
    Montoya
    Time for a new PC?

    You got $280 because that gets you a budget build that will run GTA V!
     
  6. Han Burgundy

    Han Burgundy Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    6,842
    RSI Handle:
    Han-Burgundy
    Have you tried kicking it really hard and insulting its mother?
     
  7. Deroth

    Deroth Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    RSI Handle:
    Deroth1
    Did you look in the manual to see what that code means?
     
    Talonsbane, Mich Angel and Blind Owl like this.
  8. Blind Owl

    Blind Owl Hallucinogenic Owl
    Donor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    16,310
    Likes Received:
    55,118
    RSI Handle:
    Blind_Owl
    There's not a problem in the world that can't be solved through the proper application of high explosives.
     
  9. Stoutman

    Stoutman Vice Admiral
    Stream Team

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1,049
    RSI Handle:
    Stoutman
    If removing the CMOS battery doesn't fix it, try booting off of a thumb drive, CD, or floppy.
     
    Talonsbane, Blind Owl and Mich Angel like this.
  10. Deroth

    Deroth Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    RSI Handle:
    Deroth1
    P = Plenty
     
  11. Blind Owl

    Blind Owl Hallucinogenic Owl
    Donor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    16,310
    Likes Received:
    55,118
    RSI Handle:
    Blind_Owl
    Plenty of explosives. I like it.
     
    Talonsbane, Mich Angel and Bambooza like this.
  12. Bambooza

    Bambooza Vice Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    4,316
    RSI Handle:
    MrBambooza
  13. Doc Shaftoe

    Doc Shaftoe Admiral
    Donor

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    624
    RSI Handle:
    DocShaftoe
    We're still not sure what the exact problem is, but we were able to save his system by installing Windows to his second SSD and completely disconnecting the first one. Everything is working for now. Fingers crossed it stays that way. Thanks for the suggestions TESTies, we both appreciate it!
     
    Talonsbane, Mich Angel and Blind Owl like this.
  14. Montoya

    Montoya Administrator
    Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    22,137
    RSI Handle:
    Montoya
    Drive failure? It should have still gone to bios if that was the case.
     
    Blind Owl, Talonsbane and Mich Angel like this.
  15. WaterShield

    WaterShield Vice Admiral

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    81
    RSI Handle:
    WaterShield
    If you do have to switch out the motherboard and had your Windows key tied to your Microsoft account then it actually isn't a big deal. I've rebuilt my machine 2 times since moving to Windows 10 and I'm still using the same key.

    Also if the machine truly only shows the BIOS splash screen and fails to enter the BIOS menu then you are likely looking at an issue with (in order of likelihood) the motherboard, RAM, or CPU.
     
    Blind Owl, Talonsbane and Mich Angel like this.
  16. Mich Angel

    Mich Angel Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    7,027
    RSI Handle:
    ARCHANGEL_666
    Same here my win 10 install counting the one PC it's on now, have been on 4 different machine same key no change just moved SSD to new PC started up and do all new hardware updates then it was ready to go...

    :beers: :beer:
     
    Blind Owl and Talonsbane like this.
  17. Wolfy

    Wolfy Space Kitty

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    3,677
    RSI Handle:
    WolfytheWarlock
    I don't know about you Blind Owl, but I dabble in PRECISION!
     
    Blind Owl, Mich Angel and Talonsbane like this.
  18. Talonsbane

    Talonsbane Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    6,493
    RSI Handle:
    Talonsbane
    Given that it happened after reading various things on Reddit, perhaps the 0d code means that it has 0 tolerance for dickheads currently & is taking a break from potential Reddit use until it decides it is ready.

    This would be my suggestion as well. Great call @Mich Angel

    If he has @Han Burgundy , then perhaps he should try again while enjoying another sort of libation? Bottoms up after all.

    Another great idea @Deroth !

    Except erectile dysfunction when said explosives are directly applied to the area failing to work properly.

    All legitimate rules have an exception, I would say this is the case in this regard.

    Precision does help cut down on the amount of collateral damage, but it isn't always as much fun @Wolfy . Well, not unless you're using det cord for the collars of space kitties. (that also have remote triggers) Then it's a thing of beauty in its own right.
     
    Blind Owl, Mich Angel and Deroth like this.
  19. Doc Shaftoe

    Doc Shaftoe Admiral
    Donor

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    624
    RSI Handle:
    DocShaftoe
    Yeah I've got nothing to explain that other than "it just works" right now. So far all he's lost was his old boot drive. Hopefully things keep working.
     
    Blind Owl, Deroth, Talonsbane and 2 others like this.
  20. Blind Owl

    Blind Owl Hallucinogenic Owl
    Donor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    16,310
    Likes Received:
    55,118
    RSI Handle:
    Blind_Owl
    Ok then:
    Theres not a problem in the world that can't be solved through the PRECISE application of high explosives.
    I dunno, wrapping det cord sounds kinda exciting an kinky. No one said the high explosives had to be detonated . . .
    Det cord collars. Hehehehehe. "Pop goes the weasel!"
     

Share This Page