Flight Control Tips and Tricks?

UbEcLoWn

Space Marshal
Jun 13, 2014
RSI Handle
UbEcLoWn
Do you guys know of any good tips and tricks for flying and dogfighting? I've been playing around in the Arena Commander module and still feel a bit lacking in the skill department. For example...I know you can adjust forward shield and rear shield power but don't know how to do it. How do I put full power to weapon systems? Benefits of uncoupling in combat? Things like that.

Basically there doesn't seem to be much training other than just flying around and hitting buttons to see what they do. I suppose in that regard I'm a true test pilot. I've run into many things.

Jumanx.

Captain
Nov 26, 2013
RSI Handle
Jumanx
I have absolutely no idea how to use any of the HUD stuff. It would be great if someone made/linked a tutorial that explained how to use it

Mackabeez

Lieutenant
Jun 3, 2014
RSI Handle
Mackabeez
Decoupled mode is a nice tool. When I'm flying I use it to strafe a target as it passes by me. You can also decouple for a turn. Doing a 180 degree turn in Decoupled mode will bring your craft to a stop momentarily when you re-engage coupled mode, however you can have guns on target during the entire turn if need be. Also if your not using Ctrl+F mode, it really comes down to not over correcting and learning your ships handling. Put the mouse where you want your ship to go and keep it on that point in space. The ship will follow, just make sure not to over correct as the ship changes course. *Note: To toggle Coupled/Decoupled use Caps. To toggle between Comstab and G-safe, use Ctrl+Caps