I think my machine just broke...

NaffNaffBobFace

Space Marshal
Donor
Jan 5, 2016
RSI Handle
NaffNaffBobFace
So was just flying over Daymar in a 300i with my GTX750 sounding like it was going to launch itself through the side of the PC, and suddenly the screen went blue with a "MEMORY MANAGEMENT" error stating it was going to reboot.

Okay, reboot.

"Disk read error. Press CTRL + ALT + DELETE to restart"

Restart and just goes back to the above, stuck in that loop.

Having looked online it's either: Bios Boot order has changed or Bios needs resetting to default, RAM failure, Hard Drive or SATA cable failure.

So i'm letting the machine cool down for a half hour and then will turn on again. My suspicion is the video card has nuked itself, or the hard drive with the OS on has died (the game is on a secondary hard drive).

I'd appreciate any comments as to what might have caused this out of the blue and if messing with the Bios is a waste of time - I'm not technical in any way shape or form however do okay with tutorial videos etc.:slight_smile:

Sraika

Space Marshal
Nov 7, 2017
RSI Handle
Sraika
I actually had a very similar issue a few years back, turned out the power supply wasn't quite giving enough power. That's probably not what the issue with yours is, though, since that is fairly uncommon.

Printimus

Space Marshal
Officer
Donor
Dec 22, 2015
RSI Handle
Printimus
A good practice that I have sometimes found helpful:

1. Turn your power supply switch to the off position.
2. Unplug the cable from the power supply (the plug that goes into the wall).
3. Press the power button on your PC (as if you were turning it on).
4. After waiting 30 seconds and pressing button multiple times, plug power cord back in and flip PSU switch back on and boot up.

This bleeds any residual power from the PSU and may "debug" whatever seems to be going on with your system. If that doesnt work, try reseating your RAM or GPU or other problem areas.

NaffNaffBobFace

Space Marshal
Donor