When you get hit with a weird bug and submit it, but then 6 months later, still nothing has changed?

breadbin

Commander
Sep 28, 2022
RSI Handle
breadbin
I love the users who insist I explain the step by step of what causes and what I am going to do to fix it forever, and it's some weird backwards thing they can't even reproduce but it happened once, or it's a random thing down to their unique setup, so now it's of critical importance.

So you fix it, find a way to get rid of them, and never hear of them again because somewhere down the line it's so niche they find a way to work around it, fix it, or it just stops.

Vavrik

Space Marshal
Donor
Sep 19, 2017
RSI Handle
Vavrik
I am a systems engineer, and basically I go by the same principle. It just goes into the backlog.
Same for the rest of my company which is a dev company (BI webapp sort of thing).

The more complaints(or automatic reports), the higher up the prio list it goes.
I'm a software architect and developer. Also same.

Some common issues for references:
Recorded as ERROR: ID=10T. When the user is acting like a gnat trying to get out of a jar by smashing into it.
A layer 8 error (in the 7 layer OSI model) Layer 8 describes a specific carbon based interface that normally exists between the device, and the floor.
An actual bug. No I mean it's an actual bug, like a cockroach that gets into the device and gets fried, or a bunch of angry wasps that caused all sorts of intermittent problems.
I also don't know what to call the issue where NoReply doesn't respond to messages. I once put a ESP button in the software to manage that. The software won an international award.

mindfart

Space Marshal
Donor
Feb 10, 2015
RSI Handle
mindfart
"Fix themselves" Genuinely didn't know that was a thing? I take it that's a computer is turned off and is cleared next time its turned on kind of fixing itself?