Colo(u)ring/Graphic Software

Best Graphic/Colouring Program?

• Adobe Photoshop

• Corel Painter

• Some other program I'm not aware of? Please specify in the comments.

• YAY!! A poll.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Blind Owl

Hallucinogenic Owl
Donor
Nov 27, 2015
RSI Handle
BlindOwl
Ok, so here's the deal. I'm getting back into my art. Starting with pencil, as that was the medium of choice for me throughout my artistic life. Moving forward I want to expand on that, and I plan to scan my images, start colouring them, and playing with graphic design, etc.

Now, I've seen a shit ton of amazing work here on this forum, from multiple members. My query to you, my beautiful TESTies, is what program is the best? Assume I've never worked with any graphic software before, as I haven't since 1999.

I want a program that's not to heavy on the learning curve, easy to use and manage, and not to damn complex. I'm pretty sure I just said the same thing 3 different ways, but y'all get my point. Also, not to damn hard on the pocket book.

Reactions: SeungRyul

Carlos Spicyweiner

Space Marshal
Donor
Oct 14, 2015
RSI Handle
DMGunslinger
I've been thinking about Adobe Illustrator(lots of horsepower, learning curve looks steep for quality results). I use Photoshop for astrophotography and didn't know it could be used for art.

Reactions: Blind Owl

EpilepticCricket

Space Marshal
Oct 20, 2014
RSI Handle
EpilepticCricket
I really like Photoshop because while it's highly impressive and can do things that will blow your mind, it's not so complex that you have to spend hours watching tutorials just to learn the interface (I'm looking at you, Mudbox...). That's not to say that its learning curve is negligible, but considering how prolific the Adobe suite is you'll have very little trouble finding tutorials that'll show you anything you want to know.