Liquid Cooled SSD

Talonsbane

Space Marshal
Donor
Jul 29, 2017
RSI Handle
Talonsbane
I remember a number of years ago, when some people were attaching cooling blocks to their HDDs to help keep them cooler by way of the case fans blowing air from outside the case across the fins of the HDD cooler blocks. Granted, this was before SSDs became main stream & were crazy priced.

Since then, I've also seen some motherboards that seemed to have a sort of built in water cooling system for just about everything except for the graphics card & RAM, which would be able to also be water cooled by their own add-on hardware that could also be included into the overall loop.

Shadow Reaper

Space Marshal
Jun 3, 2016
RSI Handle
Shadow Reaper
I’m not an expert but IIRC, clock speed is mostly limited by temperature. If you cool the entire system component by component, odds seem fair you can run them faster. They must have hit the thermal limit with their last SSD and decided this is what they need to run faster.

Since SC benefits so much from an SSD, one has to wonder whether this 20% boost in speed wouldn’t be noticeable.

FZD

Space Marshal
Nov 22, 2016
RSI Handle
FZD
I cursory search into the subject suggest that it'd be theoretically possible to overclock an SSD, but access to those settings would pretty much need to be provided by the manufacturer. People are also suggesting this would likely increase the error rate by a lot.

I also figure that for efficient cooling, you'd need to have similar thermal conductivity on both sides, right? Like, if the source can only emit heat at 10 W/mK, as is the case for highly thermally conductive plastic, it wouldn't really help that much if on the other side you'd got like 100 W/mK. I mean, it wouldn't be entirely without an effect, the Watts being dependent on Kelvin, but but surely the cooling would work better if the source also conducted better.