Anyone have any tips on learning how to keybind Thrustmaster T16000s?

AccidentProne8

Space Marshal
Apr 12, 2015
RSI Handle
accidentproneeight
Mostly the title. Trying to fly HOSAS. No stick experience since the 90s and the Microsoft Sidewinder, (which I still have but seems to be way too outmoded) but jumped the gun and bought two 16000s.

I think I want to bind my right stick to be flight sim controls, unlike most everyone who insists in space we should be different and special, so I'm in it to win it on my own.

Any advice appreciated. I have access to Target software but nothing else. I want to emphasize that I've never done this before.

Michael

Space Marshal
Sep 27, 2016
RSI Handle
Pewbaca
And here is the opposite view ^^:
Unless you want to run a lot of double keybindings with modifiere keys you don't really need TARGET.
I think (a lot of?) people run secondary devices for more immersion and better control input.

Some examples are:
Lea extended input / Roccat power grid
game glass
Elgato stream deck

I like to keep my keybind simple and reduced to the most important stuff and use my tablet as an enhanced device. (LEA)

Left stick: Strafing
Left Slider: when its back thruster power
left hat switch: Counter measures
left Fire button: fire group 2
left top buttons: AFB, decouple, spacebrake

right stick: pitch, yaw, roll
right Slider: speed limiter
right hat switch: targeting
right Fire button: fire group 1
right top buttons: lock and fire missiles (and maybe in the near future for communication)

marcsand2

Space Marshal
Staff member
Officer
Donor
Mar 15, 2016
RSI Handle
marcsand2
And here is the opposite view ^^:
Unless you want to run a lot of double keybindings with modifiere keys you don't really need TARGET.
I share this view. If you want to do some extra stuff like custom combined axis or butter better timed button presses, I can recommend Joystick Gremlin above Target.