Hmm... ISP free speed increase from 100Mbps to 200Mbps?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Montoya, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. Montoya

    Montoya Administrator
    Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    22,137
    RSI Handle:
    Montoya
    This shows up in my email this morning...

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Suspicious...

    I bet I get another email in a few weeks asking if I like the new speeds. If I do, then consider the new plan for $100/m, otherwise keep the current payment, but get downgraded to 50Mbps.
     
  2. Stevetank

    Stevetank Lead Aurora Theorycrafter
    Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    12,912
    RSI Handle:
    Stevetank
    We got faster speeds out here when Google fiber threatened to install their lines everywhere. Its Google 'attacking' in your city?
     
  3. StdDev

    StdDev Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    RSI Handle:
    StdDev
    Suspicious indeed... have they done anything to increase the bandwidth in your neighborhood?
    If not.. are they giving you free speed/bandwith that doesn't exist?
     
  4. Thalstan

    Thalstan Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    2,479
    RSI Handle:
    Thalstan
    Very possible the speed increase is due to them taking out legacy equipment and putting you on the bottom tier of their new equipment.
     
  5. Frad in'Ryth

    Frad in'Ryth Captain

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    337
    RSI Handle:
    FradinRyth
    I'm with Stevetank, if you're over near the Triangle where Google fiber is getting installed. I suspect it's Spectrum just trying to keep your business
     
  6. Frad in'Ryth

    Frad in'Ryth Captain

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    337
    RSI Handle:
    FradinRyth
    Montoya and I are in the same area and I've had very good speeds from Spectrum down here. My wife's company pays for our internet for her home office and at 300 down we usually see 260-320 depending on the time of day. I suspect it's truely just to combat Google fiber coming into the area.
     
  7. StdDev

    StdDev Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    6,805
    RSI Handle:
    StdDev
    I hate you.... j/k..
    I'm on the outskirts of the boonies... My choice is 12Mb DSL or Sneakernet...
     
  8. Montoya

    Montoya Administrator
    Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    22,137
    RSI Handle:
    Montoya
    I thought Google stopped expanding in the Triangle?

    It could be ATT perhaps.

    Regardless, SC patches are now double the speed :smile:
     
  9. Xist

    Xist Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    RSI Handle:
    Xist
    Likely marketing nonsense.

    "Since you rarely ever use the speed you pay for, we've upgraded you to something even faster (that we know you won't use and so costs us nothing)."

    AT&T just did it for my wife. She was always under her data cap, never even close to hitting it. What did they do? Upgraded her for no additional cost to an unlimited plan.

    Sure as shit if you actually start using that data they'll increase your costs or cancel your plan.

    They just want to it sound like you have a really good deal.
     
  10. Printimus

    Printimus Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    6,604
    Likes Received:
    26,224
    RSI Handle:
    Printimus
    Suspiciousize all the things!
     
  11. Deroth

    Deroth Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    RSI Handle:
    Deroth1
    Comcast did the same thing in my area about a week after the FCC made their initial announcement about wanting to do away with Net Neutrality as Comcast was worried people in the area would start asking about the lawsuit about the county council blocking their competitors being reopened (the case was thrown out when NN was first implemented as it made it officially legal for local and State governments to establish and protect internet monopolies.)
     
  12. Bruce

    Bruce Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    RSI Handle:
    ABAP
    Could be some infrastructure upgrade to lure Amazon to open new HQ in Triangle :slight_smile:
     
  13. Irishnutcase

    Irishnutcase Grand Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    4,672
    RSI Handle:
    Irishnutcase
    They better start cutting the cost of my damn bill then or start giving me more than 300Mbps (I know it won't happen. Bastards (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
     
  14. Radegast74

    Radegast74 Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    3,834
    RSI Handle:
    Radegast74
    American consumers: "Yay, competition is a good thing!"

    American corporations: "This competition is going to kill our profits! Ajit, do something about that!"
     
  15. Slansickness

    Slansickness Admiral
    Donor

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    163
    RSI Handle:
    Slantsickness
    My isp upgraded all package speeds just over a year ago. 6 months later they upgraded the monthly cost by about $20 too.
     
    hardroc77, Bambooza and Talonsbane like this.
  16. Montoya

    Montoya Administrator
    Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    4,771
    Likes Received:
    22,137
    RSI Handle:
    Montoya
    Interesting, so its possible a: "Look at us! We, Spectrum are competitive!"
     
  17. Shadow Reaper

    Shadow Reaper Grand Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    5,166
    RSI Handle:
    Shadow Reaper
    I'm such a terrible novice so have to ask, when they say "300Mbps" that doesn't actually address the issue of the size and frequency of the packets in this pipeline, does it? I mean you could transmit packets at twice the frequency and yet have much worse service if those packets were shorter and further apart, couldn't you?
     
  18. Bruce

    Bruce Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    1,263
    RSI Handle:
    ABAP
    as long as you are above water on required bandwidth limit, you are usually having worse service with speed increase in terms of latency :( .. as long as you are not a government agency sitting directly on backbone of course (than you'd be in trouble only when you try to reach other continents :slight_smile: )
     
    hardroc77, Deroth, Bambooza and 2 others like this.
  19. Takeiteasy

    Takeiteasy Admiral
    Donor

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    4,234
    RSI Handle:
    Takeiteasy
    Yes however they are now using the new definition of megabit which is 2 bits together.

    You have 400bps internet.

    Enjoy, let us know when your page finally loads after dinner.
     
  20. Sirus7264

    Sirus7264 Admiral
    Donor

    Country:
    Japan
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    5,580
    RSI Handle:
    Sirus7264
    I don't know what my speed is these days but no datacap is nice here in japan. i pay i think 130 usd for cable(with special movie channels) a homephone and unlimited data at some godly speed it's good to be in japan you all should move here.
     
    hardroc77 and Bambooza like this.

Share This Page