So...what y'all do for a living?

JoeCool4433

Wisdom-Master
Donor
Nov 20, 2013
RSI Handle
JoeCool777
This is what I do for a living.

These springs are for an overhead door that we're fixing Friday. A rather heavy one. These springs are .421x55"x7-5/8" and weigh 150lbs each. They have an IPPT (inch pounds per turn) value of 90.82. At max turns of 17, these springs each produce 128.5 ft/lbs of torque for a total of 257 ft/lbs. A 2015 Toyota Corolla's 1.8L 4 cylinder engine produces between 126-128 ft/lbs of torque. This door needs the power of two cars to lift it and I get to wind them by hand! I have such a fun job.

This is a 24'2" x 18' door. Its quite large. We did two of these along with a few other doors for one job. These two doors we got completely done in one day.

Reactions: deathstrike

Dortz

Vice Admiral
Donor
Nov 4, 2014
RSI Handle
Dortz
Those are some mighty big springs.

Reactions: JoeCool4433
S

svenrichter

I currently work in IT. But want to study medical engineering. The only problem is, I have to redo one of my degrees which takes two years. Depression is a bitch.

that_frog_kurtis

Space Marshal
Dec 3, 2013
RSI Handle
I was an aircraft A&P engineer for a few years (technically I still am) and then when I went on an extended working holiday in North America and came home to find my old job was gone, so now I drive big trucks and cranes for a company that specializes in oversized loads. We mostly ship and install giant wine tanks for the many wineries here in NZ. I enjoy my new job a lot more, but the work can be very infrequent so I'm on the bones of my arse a bit sometimes.

OneViolence

Rear Admiral
Oct 6, 2014
RSI Handle
Fearan
I study programming/computer work at a special IT education campus for people within the autism spectrum

that_frog_kurtis

Space Marshal
Dec 3, 2013
RSI Handle