To what extent am I just terrible?

Originman

Commander
Oct 24, 2018
RSI Handle
@Origin_man
I've been playing 3.3 PTU and really enjoying it, but I am finding a few things:

I shoot things over and over and they never die in the PU. I've fired 40+ shots with my Omniski IX's at one of those little data skimmer beacons. I've switched my weapons (to Strife Mass Drivers, Tarantulas, and one time Scatterguns) and still notice that these fights take a long long time.
Is this intentional? Enemy pirates seem the same way, they soak a ton of damage. I also keep crashing into the pirates.

I know there is still lots of development to go, but for someone who is just coming back after a long time away, I feel like combat used to feel better than this (except frames and crashes are way better now). Any suggestions (or just "get good") would be appreciated.

FYI I'm flying a 300i.

Thanks!

Zapper Weisman

Vice Admiral
Donor
Apr 14, 2018
RSI Handle
ZapperWeisman
I am no expert on the current state of combat but, the 300i isn't really a fighter so battles may take longer. The 300i is a touring ship that can fight, but against tough ships with better weapons, the 300i falls a bit short, IMO. Perhaps try the 325a?

If nothing else, a rework on the 300 series is due out in the forseeable future. Maybe that will help in this area. 🙂

Sirus7264

Space Marshal
Donor
Apr 5, 2017
RSI Handle
Sirus7264